Many people have unclaimed property; from dormant bank accounts, to refunds from state agencies that have the wrong mailing address, to heirs of an estate that haven’t been located. Check to see if you have unclaimed property in the State of Texas at the link below. There is no charge to search. If you don’t claim it, it eventually will escheat (go to) the state.  Also, if you are a legal heir to the property of a deceased person, you can make a claim under that person’s name as well.  Please take a look at: Texas Unclaimed Property


  1. Denise Reeves

    Uncle died without a Will. Never married, no children. Bank account funds are now held by Texas State Comptroller in unclaimed property. Account listed his sister, predeceased, as joint account. Cousin, child of sister predeceased, has been receiving information from the state who said an affidavit of heirship would be required. In my research do not know if the steps and costs are worth going thru what is required. Their are 12 nieces/nephews of the Uncle and we are only talking about ~$23k. Also, I believe the state has 7 years or 8 and then it becomes theirs. He died in November 2008. Since cousin has made contact does that stop the deadline? Also, is it too late to file the necessary documents in the courts? We do not know one or two disinterested parties either who could complete the affidavit, another issue.

  2. Michell Bradie

    Whether the Comptroller’s office would accept an Affidavit of Heirship or require a Small Estate Affidavit (which is filed with the court, and can be filed more than 4 years from the date of death), both would need to be signed and notarized by ALL of the heirs at law, as well as two disinterested witnesses that could swear to the family history. Disinterested witnesses could be friends, or in-laws, so long as they are not direct lineal descendants. However, if you can’t come up with even two disinterested witnesses, then it can’t be done. If you could locate two disinterested witnesses, and everyone was able to sign and notarize the document, I believe most folks think it would be worth a little under $2,000 each person. You would need to double check with the Comptroller to make sure that the funds have not already escheated to the State of Texas. Just contacting the Comptroller’s office is not sufficient to stop the clock from running.

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For questions, please contact us at:

(281) 440-6416 or (936) 321-2583
Our firm returns phone calls and e-mail